My Web Development Journey: How I Started In Tech

My Web Development Journey: How I Started In Tech

I had always known I was going to be a medical student, there was no disputing that. Although, there were times I wondered what would have been if I had gone for something “computer-related” like one of my teachers had suggested when I passed my CISCO IT Essentials certification in senior secondary school. I actually considered it, but like many other ideas before and after that, it ended in my list of “things I considered, but won’t work out” and then I moved on.

How it started

Fast-forward to 2020, when the country was in complete lockdown due to the COVID-19 pandemic, I had lots of time on my hand and so when my brother suggested I picked up a course that was tech-related, I decided to take it up because why not? It wasn’t like I had anything to do anyway and my mom was already suggesting tailoring.

I started by taking futurelearn's Learn to Code for the Web course and then on completing that, I went on to take Frontend Fundamentals on Pirple. They were certified courses and they laid a solid foundation and by the time I was done with both courses, I was on a roll. I thought I had learned all there was to learn. So, I took a chill pill and started signing up on freelance websites to get gigs. Colour me shocked when I saw the requirements.

It was a wake-up call for me and I began to expand my network, joined communities online and watched YouTube videos.

How it's going

I am currently taking The 2021 Web Development Bootcamp by Colt Steele on Udemy and I've joined communities like DSC Unilag, SheCodesAfrica and many study groups to make me a better person at what I do and also to expand my network.

I've also completed challenges on Frontend Mentors and I'm three challenges away from completing the Responsive Web Developer path on DevCommunity. These two platforms have helped tremendously as I have learned a lot while solving these challenges.

I also joined the first cohort of Side Hustle’s internship which ran for ten weeks and it turned out to be one of the best experiences ever in my journey. I got to complete real-life tasks that were time-based and I had the opportunity of working on a project with a team during the boot camp phase of the internship. I'd be forever grateful for that opportunity.

Below are some of the web pages I have worked on:

  1. Hustlevest: This website-based crowdfunding platform was built during the boot-camp phase of Side Hustle's Internship 1.0 with my amazing team members

  2. 404 page: This was completed for a DevCommunity challenge.

  3. Youth Coalition Party: This was completed as a final task for the training phase of the Side hustle internship 1.0. Also teamwork.

Conclusion

With a perfect road map of the web development journey I have as my wallpaper, I hope to get better at the languages I’m currently writing and to take up more technologies along the way. My journey so far hasn’t been the best, there have been some bumps on the way as I am still very new in this and I know there is a lot to learn and unlearn. Here’s to a better journey. 🥳